Suspended In Dusk Author Interview: Armand Rosamilia

Posted: May 3, 2014 in Interviews
Tags: , , ,

Hey folks.

Over the next month or so I hope to bring you some short interviews with some of the fantastic authors whose stories feature in the forthcoming Suspended in Dusk anthology.   I encourage you to check out these authors and their other work and hook up with the on social media. You won’t be disappointed!

Without further ado, please meet the totally awesome Armand Rosamilia.

Armand Pic

 

  • Tell me a bit about yourself, where are you from and what brought you into writing? What drives you to continue writing? 

I’m a New Jersey boy (44 years old) living in sunny Florida. I write full-time and have many, many things on my plate at all times: author, radio DJ, podcaster, movie treatment writer, publisher, running the Authors Supporting Our Troops event, and a few more hats. I have a huge head, so it helps. Dean Koontz brought me into writing at 12 and I’ve never wanted to do any other job, although I’ve done far too many. What motivates me to kep going? Paying my bills so I can eat.

  • What genres interest you most and which do you write in? 

I mostly write in the horror genre, but I have also written thrillers, erotica, contemporary fiction, crime fiction, non-fiction, and anything else I feel like writing.

  • What are your thoughts about short stories and the short form? Do you have a particular favourite short story? 

I love short stories, both as a writer and as a reader. Shorts often help me decide who my next author I’ll follow will be, when I read something great in an anthology or start a collection. My favorite zombie short is definitely “Dead Like Me” by Adam-Troy Castro.

  • For those who submitted new stories: (without giving your story away!) What did you find interesting about writing a story for an anthology with the suspended in dusk title/theme? Was there anything in particular that you wanted to write about or explore? 

When I saw the theme I was immediately intrigued, because dusk is always a weird time of day, when shadows play tricks on you and as it gets darker your mind sees things that might or might not be there. I’d had the idea for this story for some time, but never had the reason to write it out. It came together quickly, and took several new turns I hadn’t thought about until the story started talking.

  • What has been the highlight of your writing career so far?

I’ve been blessed with quite a few, actually (going to brag a bit): pro-rate sales, which let me into the HWA as a voting member… the ability to write full-time and pay my bills and live happily… invites to invite-only anthologies and projects… a few of my works becoming movies in the near future… and each day something new and exciting happens to me!

  • Do you have any outstanding writing goals you’re working to achieve? (sale to a particular market or publication/book deal/award/NaNoWriMo/etc) 

I think getting into the HWA as an active voting member has been a dream come true. Going to the WHC conventions each year (this year will be my second) and being noticed as a peer of some great authors is amazing.

  • Do you have any interesting projects on the horizon that you’d like to share some info with us about? 

I’ve just optioned my Keyport Cthulhu horror book to a movie company, and I’m excited to see where it goes. I’m also working on finishing my Dying Days 4 extreme zombie book, which will be longer than previous books.

  • What advice do you have for new or aspiring writers? 

Start drinking heavily. OK, maybe not that advice… don’t stop writing. No matter what else gets in the way, keep finishing stories and books and keep building the pile of stories finished. Trust me. Once your career takes off, some of this older crap could be rewritten and sold.

 

Armand Rosamilia

 

You can find Armand online on his website:

http://armandrosamilia.com

And on twitter:

@armandauthor

Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Armand Rosamilia and commented:
    Armand Rosamilia Interview for my “Suspended In Dusk” anthology

Leave a Reply

