Writer’s Burnout

Posted: December 5, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

The last month or two has been a hectic couple of months!!

I recently took a class calledTalking Scars via Litreactor.com.  It was  taught by renowned horror master, Jack Ketchum (aka Dallas Mayr) . This went for 4 weeks and over the process of the four weeks we churned out a number of short stories which were critiqued by jack and our class mates.  Over the next few weeks I diligently subbed my stories to various markets, with no real luck yet.  One of my fantastic class mates, Karen Runge, however managed to sell her story Good Help to Shock Totem. Keep and eye out for her work – it’s fantastic.

While all this was going on I was working flat out on my TOP SEKRIT PROJEKT, -> Details to finally be announced soon.
I’m very proud of it, but it has been a long process that has involved a significant amount of work.

Lastly, we converted my daughter’s cot into a toddler bed. This was fine, but shortly after she realised she could reach the door handles and now she’s been making her way out of her room, down the stairs and into our bedroom to give mum and dad a suprise 3am visit. Trying to get her to sleep in her bed and stay in there at night has, so far, been an uphill battle.

My own writing has definitely been put on hold for a while now. I’ve managed a paltry 5000 words of a new story which I hope will become a novella or a short novel.  I’m pretty happy with it but even the thought of firing Word or Scrivener is a big turn off.  I guess sometimes you just need a break to recharge the batteries.  I’ve played a few computer games and watched like 6 seasons of Son’s of Anarachy (which is great, by the way) and I’m almost feeling ready to jump back into the writing business.  I’ve started by editing one of my existing shorts.

Do you get writer’s burnout? How do you deal with it?

Comments
  1. Well, I don’t know if it’s the time of year or just a similar attempt to write a lot of new stories, but I am feeling this fatigue now. I feel I’ve had a good year in terms of writing new fiction, and have certainly tried to make all my new stories the best they can be, but a rolling series of deadlines and submitting and resubmitting have made my eyes blur a bit. I will probably only write one more story before the end of the year and then let my brain recharge for a few weeks. Part of it for me was cramming so much research into a short time that my mind was always full of thinking what I needed for the story I was working on, I didn’t really read for “fun” — and that I think leads to burnout, when you don’t feel you can ever take a break. So yeah, I think it is a real problem and the only thing that seems to help is giving yourself a break and letting your mind rest for a bit (or at least think about something completely different). Hope you get some rest & relaxation over the holidays!

    • simondewar says:

      David,

      nah, i’m not a fulltime employee so i get no paid leave. I’m a contractor and only get paid for actual hours worked, so I’m gonna be working my ass off to make sure money keeps rolling in.

      Yeah I think you hit on something I’ve noticed. I’ve been doing a lot of things I like (reading stories/watching various TV shows) with the intention that they be research for a novella that I’m working on. I think this drained a lot of the fun out of those activities and made them feel more like work.

Leave a Reply

